jump to navigation

Suspending My Job Search November 30, 2014

Posted by Tim Rodgers in job search.
Tags:
trackback

In my last post I wrote about my frustrating year doing everything you’re supposed to do in order to find a job, and nevertheless failing to find a job. I think it’s time to try the one thing I haven’t tried so far. I’m going to stop looking for a job, and I’m going to stop applying for jobs.

I’ve turned off all those automated web crawlers that are supposed to find jobs to fit my profile. I’m not going to waste my time tweaking my resume or my LinkedIn profile any more. I’m not going to quit LinkedIn, but I’ve cut back on my contributions to the group discussions, some of which felt like shameless self-promotion. I’ll continue writing and networking, but I’m going to try not to think about whether it helps or hurts my job search.

I’m tired of the daily rejection. I’m tired of people telling me that I’m overqualified. I’m tired of other people telling me that I have a great background and that any company would be lucky to have me. I’m tired of worrying about age discrimination, or how long it’s been since I had a full-time job. I’m tired of hearing the same advice over and over again.

I’ve been waking up every day and actively looking for a job for over a year, so this isn’t going to be easy. I know I’m going to worry that the “ideal job” will be posted somewhere tomorrow, and they’re not going to find me because I didn’t find the job and apply for it. If there’s a job out there for me, the recruiter is going to have to find me on their own. Maybe playing “hard to get” is the better strategy right now.

I still want a job. Starting in January I’m going to be teaching classes in project management and supply chain management as an adjunct professor at two local universities, so I’ll be busy. I love teaching, and it’s always been my plan to transition into an adjunct role after retirement. However, I’m too young to retire, and I can’t afford to retire (or, I’m not ready to make the changes I would need to make in order to retire). I’m not ready (yet) to give up on the idea that there’s a team out there somewhere that can benefit from my experience, skills, and talents.

Just about everything good that’s ever happened to me has come unexpectedly. Maybe it’s time to relax and let things happen for a change. This isn’t my comfort zone. I prefer to make things happen. We’ll see how long I can keep this up.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

