jump to navigation

Sidelined May 19, 2009

Posted by Tim Rodgers in job search.
Tags: ,
trackback

The hardest thing for me (and probably others as well) during this “in transition” interval is sitting on the sidelines. I’m eager to get back in the game and do what I do best. I am staying busy with the job search: submitting applications, attending networking events, researching companies and industries. I enjoy providing support to my fellow job-seekers, sharing best practices and contacts, and in some ways it’s similar to the coaching role I’m familiar with. I’ve got a lot of energy and talents, all dressed up with nowhere to go.

I know some folks who are contributing their skills to non-profits. That sounds good, and it’s something I’d like to investigate, but I need a paying job and I don’t feel like I can devote too much time on activities that don’t directly contribute to achieving my goal.

Consulting is another possibility, if I could figure out how to get started. It seems like there are a lot of people in the same situation offering themselves as consultants, not an easy sell in these times of budget cuts.

I haven’t found my path forward yet, but I’m working on it.

Comments»

1. Americans Against Recession - May 19, 2009

Tim,

This would be an excellent story to be published on our website. Take a look and see what you think.

Thanks.

Development Team
Americans Against Recession


Leave a Reply

